I Now Pronounce You


These Freaks Know How to Party

Posted in Uncategorized by inowpronounceyou on March 30, 2007

I think Spinoza said that…or George Clinton.

At any rate, I went to the DC Bloggers Happy Hour last night and WOW. Just wow. My “It feels like sepuku when I drink so I’m not going to” went RIGHT out the window as I met all kinds of people who I read regularly and tossed back shots and beer (there was nary a green tea to be found and even if there was I probably would have added rum) with a reckless abandon.

What a crew. You don’t even know. I don’t care if you’re reading this in Western Iowa or London, England; your scene’s got nothin’ on the DC Bloggers scene.

It was borderline surreal at times to see someone that I’ve been reading for…well, in some cases over a year and know so much about them but have to say “Hy my name is…” And what can I tell you? These people are the best. They are genuine. They look you in the eye and listen to what you have to say and have no pretension about them. To everyone I met (you and you and you and yeah you, too) last night all I can really say is;

Thanks, I needed that. Having been a bit limited medically and mentally of late, I’ve been laying low. But for last night I was out and about and I let it all go. I wasn’t depressed or “trying”. I was just…me. It felt GREAT to just be me. No worries, no depression….I heard myself laugh and felt myself smile and it fucking rocked.

I’m thinking of a housewarming/thankkgodit’sfinallyspring party in a few weeks when I get settled in to the new place…who’s bringing the SoCo and Lime?

27 Responses to 'These Freaks Know How to Party'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'These Freaks Know How to Party'.

  1. mm said,

    It was really great meeting you last night!

  2. carrie m said,

    It was great to meet you last night! I am notoriously ADD at HHs, so I hope the next time we actually get a chance to talk. I’m so glad you had fun – and you seem to rock pretty well yourself! πŸ™‚

  3. Jo said,

    So great meeting you! Glad you had a great time!

    No more SoCo and lime though… the thought of it makes me pukey.


  4. MM; it was great to meet you as well! Atleast one of us who said they wouldn’t be drinking actually stuck to it…

    carrie m; absolutely, and thank you!

    Jo; no more SoCo? How about Jager? (ugh…just yping htat word made my gut hurt)

  5. Roosh said,

    Thanks for the shots! πŸ™‚

  6. Average Jane said,

    I can’t believe I missed all the shots! It was awesome meeting you. If that was the “real you” and people haven’t seen it in a while, what a loss for them. You are amazing, and I could tell you that “genuine” is an understatement.

    Can’t wait to do it again. Thanks for the memories (and for letting me borrow your tie)!

  7. Arjewtino said,

    I hope you’re feeling this amiable when you end up in Dodgers gear in November.


  8. Roosh; Anytime

    Average Jane; Again…Anytime! It looked better on you than it did on me anyhow. Thank you, very very much. Next time we’ll get you in to the shots line.

    Arjewtino; Har-de-har-har har…you know the difference between a Yankee Dog and a Dodger Dog? You can get a Yankee Dog in October.

  9. Freckledk said,

    I was your favorite though, right? Don’t answer that. There’s no need.

    Great meeting you. I’m going to slaughter Arjewtino at ping-pong sometime in the very near future. You’ll have to come and witness the bloodbath.

  10. Average Jane said,

    If there is a ping pong tourney, I better be invited. Me and my paddle will show up to lay down the law. GAME ON!


  11. FreckledK; Arjewtino brings a nasty game of ping pong…I will be there to witness!

    Average Jane; you’ve got your own paddle? It’s on.

  12. Freckledk said,

    If I begin to feel mismatched, I’ll try to distract him with the cleavage. As long as The Princess doesn’t mind, that is.

  13. I-66 said,

    Pleasure meeting you.

    I think freckledk means overmatched, as I don’t think she wants her cleavage to have anything to do with feeling mismatched.

  14. Freckledk said,

    Give me a break, Bucko – I’m hungover. But, touche.


  15. i66; likewise…and very, very funny!

    Freckled K; that whole cleavage thing is just unfair. Wildly attractive, but wholly unfair.

  16. I-66 said,

    Well? Are they mismatched?

  17. Mandy said,

    Good to meet you – I, like Carrie, am a bit ADD at these things… or distracted… or just had too much to drink a little too quickly… or.. erm.. something. Regardless – it’s always nice to put a face with a name.

    I hope we’ll be seeing more of you.

    I have limes. πŸ˜‰

  18. Lisa said,

    It was so nice to meet you! I had a great time chatting!


  19. It was good meeting you. You should definitely come to the next one.

  20. Freckledk said,

    This has apparently become my thread. Sorry, INPY. Last one.

    66- I’m very happy with them. To me, they’re perfect. And that’s all I’m going to say about that.


  21. Mandy; you have the limes…we’re half way there. I’m now all but certain that I will be having this party. For rizzle, yo. Once I get moved in and some furniture, why the hell not?

    Lisa; right back at you!

    ATR; Consider it done. I will be there with bells on…really…I’ll wear bells.

    FreckledK; no no, please…continue. Far be it from me to stop a conversation about breasts.

  22. Dupont said,

    Great meeting you finally! We got the Maine thing, we know where it’s at πŸ™‚

    Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well again, but we tried to stop you!!

  23. carrie m said,

    we can bring inflatable chairs to contribute. although after the SoCo and lime, they might not last the night…


  24. Hey Dupont; it was very hip to meet you and Jersey last ngiht, too. I’m sure I’ll be seeing you again!

    Carrie M; it’s all happening. I’ve got a bed now, and nothing else in there…I’ll get SoCo, inflatable chairs…pick up a few tables…good to go.

  25. Genevieve said,

    Nice meeting you the other night! (i almost said “last night.” wow am i out of touch with life or what?)

  26. kris said,

    Sounds like I definitely missed a good time. Glad y’all had fun. Cheers!


  27. Genevieve; even though you wouldnb’t speak Japanese for me, it was great to meet you too! ; )

    Kris; you really did! Next one?


Leave a Reply

