I Now Pronounce You


The Rocket Has Landed and other Musings From the Edge

Posted in Uncategorized by inowpronounceyou on May 7, 2007

So, what could possibly steal the headlines from the Fight, the Horserace, a week long houseguest, and a fabulous houseparty over the weekend?

The news that Roger Clemens has come home to NY to pitch for the pinstripes again. Sox fans hate him, Blue Jays don’t have fans, and the Astros are just glad they had him for a few years. He’s where he belongs. Roger in NY just feels right. I saw the news and for the first time all that day sat right up on the couch and said “YES YES YES!!!!”

Which was, due to my hangover, the most I’d really moved all day.

The weekend was fantastic, btw.

The Derby was…well…horses running around a big yard. The houseparty was much better…great company, a lovely hostess and host, and good times. Great people…some I knew, some I didn’t, but we all seemed united in our cause; Drinking. Good stuff. However, after Mr. Ed came down the stretch and nudged Trigger for the win, it was decided that more drinking would occur and the De La Hoya/Mayweather fight would be ordered…

Oh HAPPY DAY.

The fight? Well, it was good. Very good. Clean. Not as aggressive as I had hoped but still a fine, fine display. Although I am shocked that one judge actually had ODLH winning on his card. I mean, I know it’s in Vegas, but must we always have the one judge that cleans out his minibar right before the fight starts?

But then again, it’s all about the rematch.

This week I will be nursing my liver back to health and starting the countdown to the next Rocket Launching. Which should be soon…maybe 3-4 weeks. Which is perfect…cuz the Sox are coming up on the schedule.

Niiiiiiiiiiice.

3 Responses to 'The Rocket Has Landed and other Musings From the Edge'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The Rocket Has Landed and other Musings From the Edge'.

  1. shadowsofourselves said,

    Yeah they need to do SOMETHING. They ARE 5 1/2 games behind the sox.

    The man is 44 years old. Good luck to him. 🙂 Not saying he wasn’t once a great… but…

    Well, yeah. 44.

    he he

  2. NoPasaNada said,

    It was a good weekend…wasn’t it…? Ho hum, my liver is probably in worse shape than yours.

    Anyway, I’m not off to hum “Oh happy day” for the remainder of the evening.

  3. Dupont said,

    Dude – I WAS AT THAT GAME. You know, the one that he announced the news at? Yeah – we roll like that.

    The weekend in NYC was a blast and I’m glad we were there to see Clemens’ announcement – it’ll make it that much sweeter when the Yanks discover they’ve put all their pitching hopes in one basket and it’s got a few holes in it.


Leave a Reply

