I Now Pronounce You


Comparable Mediums -or- If I Wasn’t Writing This I’d Be Writing Music

Posted in Uncategorized by inowpronounceyou on May 12, 2007

I realized the other day that my own blog reminded me of a musician that I have always had a bizarre “God I love his music”/”Oh GOD I wish you’d just fucking STOP” realtionship with…I realized this because as I was rereading some old posts I was reminded of something that English Chris once said to me;

“Your life is a Chris Isaak album.”

isaak.jpg

And I thought, well, that’s not a very nice thing to say. Then of course, I realized he was on to something. And moreso if you ever watched his show….bumbling through complicated relationships that only got complicated when he started thinking about them…trying to be a good guy despite being infinitely flawed…and strumming a guitar on the porch and using metaphors and humor to let it out.

Or especially if you’ve ever (as I have many MANY times) seen him live. You expect a very solemn hereismyheart show and what you get is absolute hilarity punctuated by songs of loss and lament and left turns where you should’ve gone right.

In short, if I was a song, I’d be on a Chris Isaak album…completely evocative and totally misinterpreted. The kind of song that makes you take a deep breath and think of something buried deep inside you that you don’t talk about….and then you learn that it’s about the time that his gf wondered how she could get away with dousing him with gasoline in his sleep, and oh for the love of a match. (For real…he told that story before playing “Wicked Game” at a show in Boston…EVERYONE had tears of laughter rolling down their faces as he launched in to maybe the most haunting song of the 90’s.)

A little off base…maybe you shouldn’t laugh, but you do. In the midst of all the angst and hurt and sorrow and disonant chords and god damn turn your will to jello harmonies in minor…there is humor. There HAS to be. That’s what makes it all so sad and OH so completely I-can-relate-to-that human.

So, that got me thinking about some other blogs that I read and what they remind me of…

For example;

Arjewtino? The Bare Naked Ladies. You’re gonna laugh, occasionally you’re gonna think, but it’s all so well done that even when it’s “Chickedy China, the Chinese Chicken” goofy, the album sells. Big.

barenakedladies.jpg

KassyK? Alanis Morisette. She’s gonna rock out, hit you with emotion, and will rarely pull punches. It’s also got a range…you just never know what you’re going to get. But it’s gonna be straight. It’s gonna be from inside, and even when she posts something off the cuff, it’s still worth checking out.

alanis1.jpg

RooshV? Tom Jones. Wanna know how to get the girl? Don’t call it sexist, pussycat. It is what it is. And you might not like it, but how many pairs of panties have YOU had thrown at you? Not as many as RooshV or Tom, I’ll wager.

jones-tom-photo-tom-jones-62278253.jpg

Virgle Kent? George Clinton and PFunk. INSANE. All over the place. A spectacle to behold. But it’s gonna hit you with da truth. Or at least a reasonable facsimile thereof….and if you were going to see a grown man in diapers on ANY of these blogs…you just know it would right here. Oh wait…there WAS a man in diapers on his site.

pfunk.jpg

LMNtal; It’s been covered before; Duncan Sheik. Emotes, keeps it tight, and he’s able to capture so much nuance about the heart just by telling one story that I’m impressed just about every time I click on his link.

1298_con_duncan-sheik-1.jpg

Speakeasy; Joni Mitchell. Lyrical fucking genius. The way she uses words and spins a story together makes me want to throw my keyboard out of pure blogger envy.

joni_mitchell_1.jpg

What? The Curtains; Yes. HYPER smart (none of y’all make me run to Wikipedia/Dictionary.com as much as she does) and SO well executed that it makes you want to practice (if you’re a muisician listening to Yes) or read more (if you’re a blogger trying to keep up)

yes-band-np01.jpg

So what about you? Any bloggers remind you of anything on your iPod?

15 Responses to 'Comparable Mediums -or- If I Wasn’t Writing This I’d Be Writing Music'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Comparable Mediums -or- If I Wasn’t Writing This I’d Be Writing Music'.

  1. Kristin said,

    Good post. I’ll have to think about my friends, their writing, the music that I love and how they all relate. I used to love the Chris Isaak show.

  2. KassyK said,

    I am truly flattered. πŸ™‚ Thank you. And hey–Ryan Reynolds was her beau forever, then they broke up and got back together. Ironic right? Then again, I think they broke up again…Damn….

  3. jess said,

    Welll, sheeeiittt. You’re wayyy too kind. You’ve certainly earned your check this month πŸ™‚

    I remember hearing Chris Isaak talk about making the Wicked Game video (hott) and that Helena Christensen (that’s her name, right?) wasn’t acting in it. She was actually that disinterested in him. HA. I remember having that ‘well I don’t wanna fall in love’ line in my head many a time…

  4. freckledk said,

    I’d like to think I’m a cross between The Smiths and Liz Phair, although in my heart I know I’m more like Hilary Duff. Crap.

  5. Jo said,

    I’ve been thinking about this, and was talking to Bergle about this, and we decided that I’m a mix of Allison Krauss and Feist in the real world. In the blog world I’m still up for discussion.


  6. Kristin; I watched his show religiously. SO underrated!

    KassyK; ah but the question is will they get back together AGAIN. OK wait, at that point it’s ridiculous. Glad you liked your comparison. I’ve thought that forever.

    Jess; SCORE! πŸ™‚ That video was one of those “ummm…can they show this on TV?” type of things. Like…ummm….huh….she’s like…purty….

    FreckledK; I beg to differ, thank you! You’re quite a bit deeper than Hillary, and a few more pull my hair references and the Liz Phair thing is right on.

    Jo; That’s the second time you’ve mentioned that band to me…gotta check it out.

  7. Jo said,

    I think you’ve got me mixed up with someone else, this is the first time I’ve ever said anything. But she is good, very chill and euro. .

  8. Lisa said,

    This is a fun game! I need to give it some thought. . .


  9. Jo; I could have SWORN it was you…hmmm…

    Lisa; Come on…whatcha got?

  10. Kayla said,

    Tom Jones.. that is soo spot on.

  11. Mandy said,

    I’m flattered. Truly. And blushing…

    Thanks INPY.

    Ahhh Joni Mitchell. I’ve had Carey stuck in my head all day… πŸ˜‰


  12. Kayla; I was wondering if anyone would sayi something about that…HELL YES! It’s so self evident. Roosh should have his version of “Kiss” playin gopn his site at all times.

    Mandy; Anytime! I’ve told you before it reads like lyrics to me. Kills me how well you write.

  13. Brighton, England said,

    “spot on” is really overused with your blog crowd. give the americans one british expression and they just can’t stop using it.

  14. Arjewtino said,

    I’m pretty sure the line is “chicken to China, the Chinese chicken”. I’m too lazy to look it up.


  15. For the record, the Arjew is wrong…jsut trying to stir up trouble…sheesh.

    Chickity China the Chinese chicken
    You have a drumstick and your brain stops tickin’
    Watchin’ X-Files with no lights on
    We’re dans la maison
    I hope the Smoking Man’s in this one
    Like Harrison Ford I’m getting frantic
    Like Sting I’m tantric
    Like Snickers, guaranteed to satisfy


Leave a Reply

