I Now Pronounce You


I Can’t Get To Sleep…This Song is Stuck in My Cabeza

Posted in Uncategorized by inowpronounceyou on August 24, 2007

Apparently I’m doomed to have this stuck in my head no matter what…I mean, I posted those 80’s #2 Singles in an effort to get Overkill OUT OF MY HEAD! Instead, I get emails from friends and readers saying how much they love that song and “do you remember the acoustic version Colin Hay did on Scrubs?”

Well I do NOW, thank you.

It is a great, great version of a great great song…that just will NOT get out of my head. Much like the Sanford and Son Fiasco…for which I think this is karmic payback…

For those of you that asked, this is the Colin Hay/Scrubs version of Overkill. That JD…he’s just so cute.

Enjoy.

Have a great weekend, I’m sure you’ve earned it. Haven’t we all?

19 Responses to 'I Can’t Get To Sleep…This Song is Stuck in My Cabeza'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I Can’t Get To Sleep…This Song is Stuck in My Cabeza'.

  1. Average Jane said,

    That’s kind of a completely rad song, big brother! Amazing!

  2. SarahLeigh said,

    Yeah thanks. now I have to keep visiting your blog and playing this video to satisfy the song stuck in my head. which is now this. Thanks.

    ha! Have a good weekend!


  3. AJ; Hey little sister! Glad you liked it, and I’ll see you this weekend!

    Sarah; Misery loves company, don’t you know..

  4. uniquealias said,

    The acoustic version on Scrubs made me wonder how many other otherwise great 80s songs went into the studio sounding like sincere, powerful songs and came out sounding like the hook in a soda commercial.

  5. Heather B. said,

    After the Sanford and Son fiasco you deserve to get mothereffing Oops I did it again, stuck in your head. That’ll teach you.


  6. uniquealias; thank you for sayng that, and I’ll tell you why. I had written a whole paragraph after this chiding those that say 80’s music is all cheese and no substance. The production was defintiely ummm…’lighter’, and the videos alone killed any intent the artist had…

    Oh, and the fashion didn’t help.

    But so many great artists from the 80’s get lumped in to a category they don’t belong in just because of the amount of synthesizers and keyboard washes they had tossed in to their songs.

    HeatherB: I know, I know…I totally earned it.

  7. startingtoday said,

    I feel really young reading this post. I won’t even say what I was listening to in the 80’s. You’d laugh.

  8. Baby Bien said,

    Thanks to “Scrubs”, I had that in my head for weeks a few months ago. I had to buy “Overkill” on ITunes to try to play it out, so I wouldn’t like it so much. It only made it worse. The song is too good and too damn catchy.


  9. startingtoday; Yanni?

    BB; It really is…and god damnit I just can’t make it stop.

  10. megan said,

    I heart Colin Hay so much.

  11. startingtoday said,

    Yanni?!

    Ha. Now I’m feeling insulted. I remember going to see New Kids on the Block on July 29th, 1989. One of the most exciting days of my life. Their Magic Summer Tour. It was my birthday gift.

    And cut me some slack. I admitted my former NKOTB obsession to the world on your blog. It’s not a proud moment. But a moment nonetheless. Besides, you like JT, former boy-bander. And he turned out to be quite good.

    I liked Madonna. And Expose. And the Dirty Dancing Soundtrack. I was young. Besides, all I ever heard in the 80’s was my father playing Harry Chapin, James Taylor, The Beach Boys, and Led Zeppelin on the 8 track player and record player. Wasn’t much room for new exposure.

  12. janet said,

    sometimes I think my hubby loves JD more than he loves me! 🙂

  13. J said,

    “She’s like the Wind”! Now that rocked!!!

  14. AP said,

    INPY likes JT??? Seriously, just made my day!!! 😀

  15. WiB said,

    I read the post title, and had the song going before I got to the first sentence. Which really creates two problems for me:

    1. I have, yet again, that song crammed in my head. Again. Bastard.
    2. I am determined to come up with a second line, and you using ‘cabeza’ didn’t do me no favors. I think it’s going to have to be a beer reference, purely for rhyming purposes. Updates as events warrant.

    And here I was thinking I’d get some work done today…

  16. startingtoday said,

    AP – Glad I could make your day.

  17. carrie m said,

    some fucking radio station had a commercial that used the S&S theme song and I cursed you all the way out in…Deleware. And now the song is back and I curse you again. DAMN YOOOOOOOUS!!!

  18. CJ said,

    That’s funny, I had another one of his songs, I Just Don’t Think I’ll Ever Get Over You, stuck in my head all last winter. Drove me nuts, but it really is a great song off of Garden State.

  19. tornad said,

    Thanks…. i’m looked for this song after seeing it in scrubs too, and found it on your blogs.
    Have a nice day,
    bye


Leave a Reply

