I Now Pronounce You


Happy Hour Recap and the Weekend That Was

Posted in Uncategorized by inowpronounceyou on October 22, 2007

I’ve said it before and I’m going to say it again; these Happy Hours are a truly great time for DC Bloggers made better by the new bloggers that choose to brave it and show up. Throw in some of the “old school” bloggers that came, and Friday night at the Chi Cha was an absolute blast. Thank you to everyone that refused to let the rain ruin the evening and showed up wet and thirsty.

As for me;

Friday night my gameplan was simple;

#1) Get something to eat beforehand.

#2) No shots.

#3) Home before the street lights turn off.

The first one was easy; Arjewtino, some friends, and I met up at Cue Bar for burgers. Sounds innocent enough, right? Wrong. Let me sum up; our bartender/waitress for the evening was wearing a rather revealing (Umm…ridiculously revealing) shirt and a push up bra and two of our friends were female.

The first hour of our night; How much of an inappropriate beeeyatch the bartender was and that if we saw her without her makeup on, we wouldn’t think she was that hot.

Honestly, I don’t think any of the men had noticed she had a head.

I digress.

When we got to the Chi Cha at 8:00 it was for the most part empty. That changed quickly. VERY quickly. By 10:00 the entire bar was bloggers and guests whooping it up and having an amazing time.

Some of the highlights for me;

– Seeing Kathryn On, which is always cool.

– Meeting Namaste at long, long last and finding out that she is every bit as wonderful as you’d think she is from reading her blog.

– Getting to meet and talk to EJ Takes Life about writing.

– Offering the Birdal Bird congratulations in person on her upcoming wedding and the coolest proposal ever.

– Seeing Heather B back in DC.

– Getting to meet the lovely Culinary Couture.

– Discussing the Yankees demise with Bruce.

– AND, somehow managing to only do ONE shot the entire night. For me kids, this is the impressive stuff. But it’s true; I did one shot with Kathryn’s man, a notorious Yankees Fan, and Roissy, and it was a toast/fare-thee-well to Joe Torre.

Because of the limited shot intake, I accomplished two things; I made it out of Chi Cha without laying down an obscene amount of money AND I was able to get up relatively early on Saturday and take care of all kinds of stuff that I had to do, which included buying a Redskin’s jersey.

Another smashing success of a Happy Hour. Thank you to my super cool co hosts and everyone that came, and we hope to see more of you next time. I am sure that in my HH wrap up I’ve forgotten to mention something, but you’ll have to forgive me..it’s Monday morning and..well, yeah; it’s Monday morning.

Some other notes from the weekend;

-The Red Sox…Jesus Christ, here we go. As if the New England area isn’t a big enough pain in the ass what with the Patriots being like Uber Good, now we had to have the Indians follow in the foot steps of the Angels and lay down and the Sox are in the Series. I mean, what the fuck, Cleveland?! You did know that it was a 7 game series, right? You are not supposed to stop playing after game 4. Nicely done.

Things I never thought I’d do; root for an expansion team…but COME ON COLORADO!!!!

My only hope here is that this will hasten the “Oh SCREW NEW ENGLAND” sentiment that has been building since the Red Sox won the series. When that happened I said that now people would see the Nation for what it really was, and they have. The bandwagon jumping, pink hat wearing fervor has actually been rather entertaining…but winning it again?

People are going to long for the Yankees. πŸ™‚

-One of my favorite parts of the weekend these days; the Dupont Farmers market. The walk down from Columbia Heights to Dupont is great, then milling about the market and buying produce and people watching…perfect Sunday. What made it even better was having a very early brunch at the Front Page, followed by football watching, pumpkin carving, and baseball with a late swordfish dinner all with the woman I’ve been dating*…

Now, that’s a Sunday.

-The Redskins are trying to make us crazy. Please Joe, for the love of God learn from the Indians and don’t go in to “hold ’em” mode with the lead. Why is it that every week you do this?! You get a lead and you stop attacking, and you are causing major league heart problems in the DC area. KNOCK. THAT. SHIT. OFF. Next week it’s the Patriots. If, by the grace of God, there is any point where you have the lead…DON’T SLOW DOWN!!!

And, beating the Patriots would be ubersuperfantastic cool.

-But Colorado beating the Red Sox would be even cooler.

-Assuming that my Netflix show up tonight, I’m looking at trying to choose between 28 Days Later then 28 Weeks Later, the second half of Dexter Season One which I’m rewatching, or Heroes. 9 out of 10 nights there’s nothing I really want to watch. Tonight, there’s too much.

Go figure.

* Yes, I’ve been dating someone for a while now. I don’t write about it, as it’s all a bit dodgy in the details and I don’t want to jinx it…but it’s been going well, it’s been going on for a while now, and I’m just going to leave it at that. Oh, and the Redskins jersey I bought was for her, and it was Chris Cooley.

14 Responses to 'Happy Hour Recap and the Weekend That Was'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Happy Hour Recap and the Weekend That Was'.

  1. Bruce said,

    Thanks for the shout out there. Spot on with the pink hats, God the agony of enduring another red sox win may be too much for me to handle.

  2. Lemmonex said,

    It’s not often I am called lovely…pleasure was all mine.

  3. ejtakeslife said,

    It was great to meet you (and your special lady friend) at HH! Thanks for being such a great host.

  4. Supergirl said,

    As much as I love you INPY – the New England bashing is getting old . . . come on, at least I live up here remember???

    OH – and my son’s football team is heading to the playoffs!! 7 – 1 baby! (another obnoxious New England fan you can call me – but hey I don’t care) GO CHIEFS!!!


  5. you are such a tease… details are gonna follow..right???? you wouldnt just drop that on us…and expect to walk away….and next time you are shopping for girl jerseys…i wear a small!!!!!!!

    xoxo

  6. erica said,

    Nanah Nanah foo foo πŸ™‚


  7. Bruce; The only comfort is that ther “nation” will most likely do exactly what they did last time and more people will get sick of them. That’s all we can hope for. Great to meet you.

    Lemmonex; You are indeed lovely!

    ejtakeslife; My pleasure! Thank you for coming!

    Supergirl; Yes you do and I miss you girl!!! I hope your son (who is a monster football player, folks) winds up with the Redskins someday. πŸ™‚

    Suicide; Details to follow…maybe…which Jersy do you want?

    Erica; yeah yeah.

  8. roissy said,

    worst case scenario:
    the sox go on the win the series in 7 with a walk-off grand slam, the pats finish undefeated and win the superbowl while tom “ladies, please, hands off the chin cleft” brady breaks ten different passing records, and john kerry returns triumphantly from zombieland to win the presidency in ’08.

    the gloating will be so loud and sustained that with any luck the soundwaves will go interstellar and realign the path of an asteroid just big enough to obliterate harvard yard.

    believe me, the world will be better off.

  9. Kiraa said,

    Sounds fabulous, honestly. I think 95% of my favorite blogs in the world are from people living in the DC area. Which is just totally unfair because DC is on the OTHER side of the country.

    I wonder if they have blogger meet ups in SoCal and if they’re as good as yours. Curse you right coasters!

  10. namaste said,

    Wow and wow. The pleasure was all mine.

  11. Miss B said,

    Oh how I love that Dirty Water!

    I agree with Supergirl – enough with the Sox bashing, ok? I don’t say that just because I love them (and the Pats, too!). While I’m not a Yankee fan, I don’t harp on them to the extent that you do with my boys.

  12. freckledk said,

    I’m impressed with your low shot count. That sounds dirty, huh?

  13. janet said,

    As a Denver native and Rockies girl from back in the day, welcome to my side!! πŸ™‚

  14. Texpundit said,

    SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT!

    I totally missed the HH this weekend. I didn’t even know when it was, I’ve been so out of the loop. 😦


Leave a Reply

