I Now Pronounce You


A Welcome Lull in the Insanity

Posted in Uncategorized by inowpronounceyou on November 13, 2007

I’ve been feeling a bit underwhelmed lately. Uninspired. Maybe it’s this ridiculous looking moustache or maybe it’s just a downturn. Could be that baseball season is over…I’m not above that. Either way, I’ve noticed that I’m not really reaching out for “it” (whatever It is) with the usual voracious INPY style of late.

And that’s all good.

You can’t have highs without lows.

I can tell you that I’ve been feeling more excited by the passing minute about seeing my brother, his family, and the rest of our family for Christmas. It just can’t come fast enough. I miss them all every day and the thought of spending the Holiday there with them makes me smile a big ear to ear goofy grin.

I could also say that I can’t believe that Thanksgiving is NEXT WEEK…even though I’m the one that said before Halloween “watch out kids, here it comes.”. I mean, are you ready for it? Didn’t think so…although I am truly excited to be taking part in the “Orphans Thanksgiving” here in DC with several good friends. It’s a sort of pot-luck-dinner-meets-happy-hour homage to the holiday and the families that make them what they are;

Therapy worthy.

I can tell you that I am less than impressed with the overall level of Heroes, but that Dexter rocks my socks.

Or that I’ve watched less football than you’d believe and follow off season MLB news more closely than the Redskins. (Even though I’d love for them to make the playoffs…)

I might be inclined to share that I’ve all but finished this and can’t recommend it highly enough…I was actually thinking about an entire blog post about it, but it lost steam. Anyhow, read it. It’s family, the Holocaust, self discovery, love and understanding and the search for both…

Yeah. Read it.

So that’s the deal, just a lull in the action. In some ways I’m thanking my lucky stars for a break. I tend to attract all kinds of insanity…it’s nice to have a brief reprieve.

10 Responses to 'A Welcome Lull in the Insanity'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A Welcome Lull in the Insanity'.


  1. personally .. after the cancer or VD thing….i would think a little less adrenaline would be ok … xoxo

  2. freckledk said,

    So looking forward to the breaking of bread…and to lots and lots of wine. Anything to make my turkey more edible.

    And happy to hear of your Christmas plans, and that you will be able to see the family. But, just so you know, you are always invited to Orphan’s Christmas, Orphan’s Easter, Orphan’s Arbor Day, etc., should you ever find yourself stuck in the city.

  3. Lemmonex said,

    Enjoy the quiet…it never lasts, dear.

  4. carrie m said,

    i almost picked that book up tonight…ah, well, one more for the list.

    maybe it’s the moustache that’s the insanity shield?

  5. ejtakeslife said,

    If you enjoyed that book, I’d also recommend Outwitting History by Aaron Lansky. It’s his memoir of his experiences trying to save and preserve Yiddish books.

  6. startingtoday said,

    YOU tend to attract all kinds of insanity? No!

    But in all seriousness, who says it’s just (or has to be) a brief reprieve? Maybe it’s a serious break from all the craziness. Just because you ATTRACT insanity doesn’t mean you have to have anything to do with it. You can’t control what others do. Just yourself.

    Sounds like visiting your family at Christmas is just what you need to get you feeling right again.

  7. Kiraa said,

    I love book recommendations. That one sounds amazing. Thanks 🙂

  8. Velvet said,

    “Maybe its this ridiculous looking mustache…”

    That line should go up on a list of quotes.


  9. I’ll definitely pick up that book. It sounds remarkable. Enjoy your lull — peacefullness can be fun.

  10. roissy said,

    are you putting miracle gro in your stache?


Leave a Reply

