I Now Pronounce You


New House, New Stuff, New Feeling

Posted in Uncategorized by inowpronounceyou on January 14, 2008

I got the call today about the new house; approved! Signed and sealed with a move date and all. Yee. Friggin’. HA! Now it’s time to start making the lists of everything that the new place needs…which is like…oh…everything.

See, I travel light kids. I don’t have lots of stuff and I really never wanted it. That has kinda sorta changed…I want stuff, man. I’ve got a great job that pays well, a beautiful house, a great girlfriend, and a grin on my face. So, it’s time to go shopping. On the list;

A car

Furniture

A new amp (to go with the new guitar)

Carpets

And the list goes on and on…

What’s that? The new guitar? Oh, did I forget to mention that? He he…funny story. My company bought me a new Les Paul Standard in Honeyburst. Oh yeah, baby. IT was an “atta boy” for 2007. How cool is that? Sadly, and of course, I picked the one finish that simply doesn’t exist. No one’s got it. From here to LA and back again it simply ain’t there. So, I had to order it and we’re still waiting but who cares? I mean, this thing is worth whatever the wait!

New place, new guitar, life is good, baby. Life is good.

To that end, I’ve been reexamining all sorts of things lately, and I’ve sort of realized that I’ve always been a little afraid of success. I do very well in all kinds of things, but then I start wondering if I deserve it…am I going to screw it up? How am I going to screw it up? When am I going to screw it up?

But this time…right now? I feel amazing. I feel strong and I feel like things are falling in to place. Like I’ve worked hard and that I do deserve to succeed. Even writing this, I’m wondering if I’m jinxing something. But then I think; hell no. FUCK no. There’s this life that I want and by god I’m going to reach out with both hands and grab it.

It’s one hell of a feeling, kids. I highly recommend it.

16 Responses to 'New House, New Stuff, New Feeling'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'New House, New Stuff, New Feeling'.

  1. Velvet said,

    I just got a postcard that SCAN furniture is going out of business and having a MAJOR sale. If you like that Scandinavian stuff, it’s well worth the ride. I’m a mid-century freak, so I love Scan, but I know it’s not for everyone so you won’t hurt my feelings if you say they have the ugliest furniture known to mankind.

    Congrats on the house!


  2. I can relate to your fear of success, and applaud your decision to grab ahold and enjoy it, apprehension be damned.

    Break a leg, INPY. πŸ˜‰

  3. onefaller said,

    We have only what we give away.

    Congrats on the guitar. yer gonna love it. Here’s my baby: http://www.antoniusrex.com/image/guitar_collection_18.jpg

    Nothing plays like a Gibson… nothing.

    That said, LP’s are *heavy*. get a -big- strap… We should get together and jam sometime.

  4. Angelica said,

    Been reading you for a while. Congrats on all the good fortune! AND, I was all for your list until I stumbled across carpet. People still have a fondess for the stuff, eh?

    If furniture is what you seek I suggest popping into the few places on U st. offering select wares. Some are bit *ahem* eccentric but all around you can find awesome stuff and the plus is that your place won’t look like it was decorated by *ahem* an IKEA catalogue. Not that I don’t like IKEA, cheap glassware is expendable glassware.

  5. Matt said,

    Way to go kid, it sounds like things are headed in the right direction in 2008 and your Mo Bro’s are proud of you πŸ™‚ We should do a reunion night sometime soon, once you got your placed settled. Take care, Matt


  6. Fear of success sure beats fear of failure. Congratulations on your extended caffeine high. I hope to be in that state someday…

  7. roissy said,

    angelica – u st? fuckin overpriced avant garde mosquito netting bamboo shite. or crap picked up from the junkyard, dusted off, and sold at a 1000% markup. shop there if you either a) got money to burn and don’t have any other hobbies or b) like playing the role of a foolish yuppie.

    btw inpy, i’m in the market for an amp. i’m thinking tube, but i understand solid state is up to snuff now. any model recommendations?

  8. Angelica said,

    Ummm…wow, crybaby.

  9. roissy said,

    more like fist of fury.


  10. hey,,congrats suigarpie…
    send me the new addy..i have a knack for awsome housewarming gifts…
    xoxo


  11. of course i suck at spelling…
    xoxo

  12. KassyK said,

    Sorry for the late write in…but congrats! You deserve it. πŸ™‚

  13. blueseaglass said,

    I am soooo jealous!!! Dont forget to get a trashcan. I forgot a trashcan when I first moved here. Not a good thing to forget.


  14. Go boy! You know, whenever I think “What if I fail?” I immediately erase it and think “What if I’m great?” Cheesy, but it works.

  15. tracylord said,

    two words…house party. or is that one?


  16. yeah..umm..dude..whens the party??? achem…….superbowl???
    xoxo


Leave a Reply

