I Now Pronounce You


And You Thought I Was Gone Forever…

Posted in Uncategorized by inowpronounceyou on February 3, 2009

Hola kids. Yes I know it’s been …well…awhile. Glad to see Obama won. Good, good, and end of an error and all that. Did you have a good Christmas/Han…err…Chanu…errr…Jewish Christmas? Did you drink a lot on New Year’s Eve and wake up in a strange place?

What? Oh, you’re annoyed with me? OK OK, I get it. I know, I just disappeared. But you know, I never stopped thinking about you. OK, that’s a lie. I did. I got busy, man, what can I say? I’ve been tearing down and rebuilding and rearranging and renovating and just generally changing, baby.

But, here I am! And it’s been really, pretty amazing lately. And I figured that I had to come back and here and give you all the low down and put I Now Pronounce You to bed, once and for all. Yes, you heard me, this is IT, kids. It’s over. Done. Kaput.

You see, I started this blog for, well…you know why I started it. And then it just kinda became. It became cathartic and wonderful and terrible and cool and too much and not enough and…yeah, all that. It took over. And then it became a crutch. I’ve told you that without probably ever telling you that, but there it was. And I started saying “enough it’s time to getthefuckonwithit” and that’s exactly what I did.

I gotthefuckonwithit.

I started really living instead of just existing. Now, to a lot of my friends, this seemed to be exactly the opposite of what I was actually doing. Because, not unlike this blog, I just kindasortaprettymuch disappeared. Poof. Casper. Gone. I got emails and phone messages and all kinds of “wtf!?” smoke signals…but really, I just needed to disappear.

I started what I have taken to calling the “Quiet Phase” of my life. The GF and I have been quiet…we’ve been still…and we’ve been happy. Really, really happy.

So, not very long ago I found myself, in a true moment of clarity, realizing just how happy I am…how much I like being grounded, having newer and bigger goals and aspirations and caring about things that are bigger than just me….wanting more…and really getting why all the craziness that I’ve been sharing with you and living with begins and ends with me…

And why so much of the happiness that I have been experiencing begins and ends with her….

So on Saturday right after I dropped her off at the airport for her flight up North to get her little girl, I went and had and took care of a few things…and when she came home, tired from her trip with the little one in tow, ready for bed, I made us a fire and dimmed the light…I sat next to her and told her how happy I am when her little girl is with us, and that I think we should have a family…

…and that I think we should get married…

…and that I’m not saying “someday”…I’m saying I love you, and I don’t ever want to live without you…

…and I want to know, will you marry me?

beths-ring2

And she said yes.

It’s all full circle; better now than it could have been, but better for having gone through everything that got me here.

Thank you all for your kinds words over the time we’ve shared…your thoughts, advice (good bad or otherwise) and wisdom. This wasn’t ever quite what I thought it would be, but it certainly was more than I’d hoped for…

Be good to yourselves, take care of each other, and Go Yankees.

-Justin

23 Responses to 'And You Thought I Was Gone Forever…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'And You Thought I Was Gone Forever…'.


  1. Cheers, brother. I send all my best to the both of you (and the munchkin!) as you embark on the new adventure.

    … but eff the Yankees. Go Mets!

    Haha. I kid (sort of). Glad to hear you’re well.


  2. I’m happy for you man! That’s so awesome! Tell GF best wishes (that’s what you say to the bride) and congrats to you!

    You deserve all the happiness that you two have found. 🙂

  3. Arjewtino said,

    It’s pretty amazing how different your life has changed since the time you started this blog and we met over beer and ping pong to now. Despite how sad the official end of this blog makes me, I’m happy for you.

    Oh, and in case you were unaware of this fact, YANKEES SUCK.

  4. carrie m said,

    You can’t wish someone congrats too many times, so congrats again. I will miss the blog of course, but I’m happy you are happy.


  5. I was all set to wish a hearty congratulations to you … right up to where I saw you’re a Yankees fan. Yankees suck!

  6. Jo said,

    Congratulations again! I knew this was coming (the engagement not the end of the blog) and I’m so happy for you!

    And yes, while I wish you’d keep writing because you do have a very entertaining and intelligent perspective I completely understand.

    Best of luck!

  7. LiLu said,

    Oh!!! The ring is lovely! And I love how twee her dainty hand looks in your big manly one. You sound so happy… content, actually. Congratulations!!!

  8. Lemmonex said,

    Wonderful and good thoughts both your ways.

  9. vvk said,

    Congrats!

  10. Beach Bum said,

    Congrats! Happy to see that everything has worked out — you’re the one who got me into blogging (what don’t I do for a free drink?).

    All the best!

  11. Julie said,

    Congrats Justin!
    I am really happy for you.

    GO YANKS.

  12. JoLee said,

    Wow. What a beautiful way to come full circle in the opposite direction!

    Your leaving is bittersweet but your exit strategy brilliant and I’m so happy to have connected with you and GF, or rather, Fiance!

    hugs and love to both of you!

  13. KassyK said,

    I am so happy for the both of you. You guys are the best and you deserve the best.

    Congratulations again and again and again and always. 🙂

  14. Daniel said,

    Congrats! Always glad to hear a success story! Best of luck to you and your lucky lady!

  15. Urban Girl said,

    Congratulations! I really enjoyed reading your writing and am sad to see the blog end, but I am really happy for you!

  16. diva527 said,

    Congrats. I have lurked for a really long time on this blog and I am happy to see this have a happy ending. Thanks.

  17. Snax said,

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Unlimited Public Records Searches!

  18. Ferinannnd said,

    Хорошо что удалось отыскать такой замечательный блог, а то последнее время уже начал думать что инет это мусорка сплошная.

  19. Chairman Mao said,

    Test

  20. Chairman Mao said,

    Testing

  21. Sleestack said,

    Making a woman the cause of your happiness is a mistake. Your happiness should come from within and hers as well and you share it with each other. WHat happens if she changes or leaves? There goes your happiness. Only you can create and are responsible for your own happiness. Other than that. Congrats.


  22. Stories on perfect proposal always make me smile. And that was some timely proposal! I’m sure by this time, you’re still enjoying your moments together. Have a good life!


  23. ivKbgYZVqWUxmCQJsN 6014


Leave a Reply

